BBQ / Smoking

off-topic conversation unrelated to Jane's Addiction
Hype

BBQ / Smoking

#1 Post by Hype » Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:29 pm

Curious what ANR folks do for BBQ.

I've been using a Weber kettle grill with chunk charcoal regularly for about a year and finally think I'm getting used to it. I got adventurous enough to try smoking some baby back ribs today. Since I've never done this before it's a little disconcerting... the recipe says keep the temp between 250F-300F for 3-4 hrs. But I've also heard that 225F for 6-8 hrs is best. I'm avoiding the "3-2-1" method because I've heard that's too similar to doing them in the oven (with pre-boiling).

So basically, I set it up for indirect grilling with some very large chunks of charcoal, drip pan in the middle... and I've been using hickory chunks for smoke.

They've been on the grill for 2 hours or so at the moment and they look pretty good but I'm still wary. I've been trying to keep the heat around 250, so I figure the total process will probably be around 4 hrs including basting with some homemade tequila sauce at the end.

Anyone got any surefire techniques/tips/favourite things to BBQ?

I've gotten pretty good at porterhouses and bone-in chicken breasts, and did some pretty good trout...

Artemis

Re: BBQ / Smoking

#2 Post by Artemis » Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:20 pm

Adurentibus Spina wrote:Curious what ANR folks do for BBQ.
I go to the Stockyards.

http://www.thestockyards.ca/

My building does not permit barbecues or smokers on the balconies, so I don't do BBQ at all. :sad:

Smokestack

#3 Post by Smokestack » Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:47 pm

I've been competing in BBQ completions for a few years now so I might be able to help here. My ribs finished in the top 10 out of 80 teams last month, so I think I'm pretty awesome!

Ribs